A Pre-Christmas Dinner Get Together

This year, as my brother was scheduled to work on Christmas day in the ER where he is Physician’s Assistant, we decided to go out for dinner a couple nights beforehand instead so that I could see him while I was in town.  His wife Liz, and my older sister and her husband joined as well, and for our location we chose a new rooftop restauarant that just opened in my hometown.  First we tried the enclosed rooftop area, but it proved to be too loud and filled with bar guests, so we moved inside to where it was much quieter and conducive to conversation and where they luckily they had an open table.  There was no rooftop view, but we could hear ourselves talk and think.

What does this have to do with Goodwill?? you may ask.  Well, plenty.  Goodwill in fact, saved the evening.  Ok, maybe just my outfit.  But introduce me to a girl that would not equate a saved outfit with a saved evening, and I will not shop at Goodwill for a week.  I’m saying that would never happen:) 

So, back to the need for outfit saving.  In packing for Connecticut for ten days, I was bound to forget something.  The first item I realized I forgot (and I am only two days in, so I’m sure there are more to come…) (see Addendum A) was my favorite skinny leapord print belt that would pull my dinner outfit together.  What to do??  Surely not sacrifice a great outfit, and surely not spend close to $20 or more on a replacement belt!  Even at a discount store like T.J. Maxx it would be at least 12.99….

In steps my mother. 

“Go to Goodwill”, she says.  Now, my mother said this, but I assure you the thought would not have been far behind in my own head.  So down Main Street I drive, and into Goodwill I go (walking at this point, the driving did stop in the parking lot.  I get  excited, but I do still remember to park :-).  Straight to the belt rack I go, and am very satisfied to see the $3 sign I above it.  A perfect price point in my opinion.

After a mere five minutes of sorting throught them, I find two promising prospects (and one that had absolutly nothing to do with the outfit at hand, but was still very cute.  However I decided to pass on spending the extra $3- that’s one beer! as my friend Amy would say.  Wise words).  Both were skinny belts, one fake red leather, and one black with gold rimmed circles cut out along the length.  Neither would completely replace the forgotten belt, but at $3, I was able to buy both, have options and a red belt for some future outfit that would surely be in need.  

Here are the pictures you have been waiting for: 

One superb model

Skinny Red Belt - $3

And to answer your question, yes, I really am always this beautiful.  Ask my mother:)
 

Black Studded belt- $3

The black one ended up winning out, so that I could coordinatingly wear my favorite new mauve tank top underneath. 

I realize that taking a picture from beneath is not the most attractive angle.  You’d have to ask my sister why she did this.  I love her, but I do doubt her love for me sometimes.  Just kidding =:0   I’m pretty sure she was just trying to get the best angle for the belt, but that doesn’t sound quite as dramatic.  And anyway, the picture also works because in the future you may begin to think of me as perfect, and this picture will be here as a reminder that although seemingly true, I am not in fact perfect.  Just almost. 

In case you were wondering, the dinner was a smashing success, as I’m not sure it would have been if my wrap cardigan had sat there flapping in the wind the entire time.  The indian spiced sweet potato tots were my favorite appetizer, and my for my entree I chose a wonderful teriyaki salmon with roasted brusselsprouts (yes, I do in fact LIKE brusselsprouts!! And I was never even force fed them as a child) and asparagus as my meal.  It was finished off with bread pudding, one of my all time favorite desserts (it may be a fact that I say this about all desserts- but is that really a lie???), complements of the owner, who I happened to go to highschool, middle school and elementary school with. 

That wraps it up for the night.  Again, I hope you all have a Merry and Bright Christmas day, filled with family, food, fashion and cheer….and, of course, Goodwill. 

Yours always,  Jaime

Addendum A:

Socks.  I forgot socks.  Average temp while I’m here you ask?  30-40 degrees.  Socks may have been a smart addition to my 43.5 pound suitcase.  (46.2 pounds according to Ben who carried it, but who’s really counting).  I think I owe him a beer because he guessed so close.  

Q: What is something you without fail ALWAYS forget to bring on vacation??

A: Toothbrush, which I remembered this time!! 

What about you?

Leave a comment