Teal Statement Vase and Vintage Plate as Butter Dish

IMG_9782

IMG_9781

The first time I came upon this lovely large vase, I passed on it.  9.99, despite being much lower than the 40ish I’d pay at a first hand store, seemed too high.  The second time apparently it struck me as just right and it went in my shopping cart, then my car, and then home to sit here forever.  Or until I move.  Which will probably be in about 6 months.

Pre-vase, we had these twigs sitting in an empty St. Germain carafe (St. Germain is an elderflower liqueur used in lots of craft cocktails these days).  This was appropriate and very cool in the absence of a nice vase like this, being the bartender that I am, but that now sits empty at the moment on the windowsill and this vase gets center stage.  Deservedly so.

It’s in perfect teal condition, with no marks or scratches.

IMG_9779

I also got this lovely ‘butter dish’, for my purposes at least, for .49.  Can’t beat that!  I was having trouble finding an ACTUAL butter dish, you know- in the shape of a stick of butter with a lid to keep those butter eating pests out, preferably from the 1940’s or before.  So I thought what better excuse to look for a cute vintage small plate to use on my counter.  Turns out there aren’t very many fly eating pests, and my butter has been quite safe, and very stylish I might add, sans lid, on my counter.  I haven’t gotten sick yet.  But I have gotten happy.  Every time I catch a glimpse of this dish in my kitchen activities.

Its always fun to think of alternate uses for pretty things in your house.  I am pleased with this one.

Happy thrifting and living,

❤ Jaime

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexia Walke
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 16:28:41

    The vase is lovely! I’m moving out in a couple of months and my inspiration for my apartment has been brought upon by these two cat pillows I got from the Salvation Army about 3 months ago! You can never beat cheap deals at the Good Will.

    Reply

    • mygoodwillfinds
      Oct 01, 2014 @ 19:28:20

      I agree! You just really can’t- and people can never tell the difference and are amAzed when I tell them I got something at Goodwill! And I’m sure a little jealous as well 😉 thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. ontheupcyclemom
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 22:06:50

    great finds! I especially love the vase and the color is lovely!

    Reply

Leave a comment